IBCLC Recertification CERPs Requirements

How can GOLD Lactation help with your IBCLC Recertification?

At the end of your conference participation, simply download/print your GOLD Lactation CERPs Certificate which will show all the presentations you have viewed & the total number of IBCLC CERPs attained. These presentations have been approved by The International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) and used towards your IBCLC Recertification CERPs requirements.

About IBCLC Recertification:

Recertification requirements for International Board Certified Lactation Consultants (IBCLCs) have recently changed. It is no longer a requirement to recertify by exam every ten years. The exam remains an option for recertification but is no longer mandatory.

IBCLCs must recertify every five (5) years to maintain their credential and can choose to recertify by examination or by CERPs with Continuing Education (CE) Self-Assessment. All IBCLCs who are recertifying must complete basic life support education, and complete 250 hours of clinical practice whether they choose to recertify by examination or CERPs.

IBCLCs Must meet three requirements during each five-year cycle:

  1. Complete Basic Life Support Education
  2. Complete 250 Hours of Clinical Practice
  3. Select & Complete One of the Following Recertification Methods:
    • Recertification by Examination
    • Recertification by CERPs

For more information on Recertification, please visit IBLCE's website: https://iblce.org/step-1-prepare-for-ibclc-recertification/

Recertification by CERPs:

Recertification by CERPs is now guided by IBLCEs new CE Self Assessment which is based on the IBCLC Detailed Content Outline.

To recertify by CERPs IBCLCs are required to earn seventy-five (75) CERPs after completing the online CE Self-Assessment. Completing the CE Self-Assessment will generate a Personalized Professional Development Plan which will identify the topic areas that need to be focused on. IBCLCs must complete at least one (1) CERP in each area identified on the Professional Development Plan. Five (5) E-CERPs are also required as part of the 75 CERPs.  The CE Self-Assessment can only be taken once during a five-year recertification cycle. More information is available here: https://iblce.org/iblces-online-systems/#CESelfAssessment

2022 is the beginning of the transition to using the CE Self-Assessment. The number of CERPs required based on the results of the CE Self-Assessment will increase between 2022-2024.

IBCLCs due to recertify in 2022: Seven (7) of the total 75 CERPs must be based on the CE-Self-Assessment

IBCLCs due to recertify in 2023: Twenty (20) of the total 75 CERPs must be based on the CE Self-Assessment

IBCLCs due to recertify in 2024 and beyond: Thirty-four (34) of the total 75 CERPs must be based on the CE Self-Assessment

The GOLD Lactation Conference is an affordable & convenient resource that you can depend on every year to offer high quality evidence-based breastfeeding & lactation continuing education! Mark your calendars and join us at our upcoming online conference.